Order GC-001-2016 to TransCanada PipeLines Limited pursuant to Section 51.1 of the National Energy Board Act

Order GC-001-2016 to TransCanada PipeLines Limited pursuant to Section 51.1 of the National Energy Board Act [PDF 50 KB]

INSPECTION OFFICER ORDER NO. GC-001-2016

IN THE MATTER OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD ACT,
AN ORDER UNDER SECTION 51.1

Information not available

is employed by TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TCPL), and/or is a person conducting an excavation or construction on or near a facility located at all stations operated by TCPL.

On 18 and 19 July 2016, the undersigned National Energy Board Inspection Officer conducted an inspection of Kingston Meter Station.

The Inspection Officer has reasonable grounds to believe:

– The 2 mm minimum remaining wall thickness (MRWT) value for blasting the pipe referenced in TCPL’s Operating Procedure Pipeline Defect Assessment and Repair Procedures (ID # 003674615) poses a safety risk to all excavation personnel.

– TCPL’s response to NEB Inspectors’ Information Request (IR) question 2 to provide the rationale for relying on the value of 2 mm is unacceptable and is not in compliance with CSA Z662-15, clause 10.2.8.

– TCPL’s response to NEB Inspectors’ IR question 3 to include in every Technical Memorandum for Safe Dig Pressure Determination (Technical Memo) a minimum allowable wall thickness (MAWT) calculation is unacceptable and is not in compliance with CSA Z662-15, clause 10.2.8.

Based on the above mentioned, the inspection officer has reasonable grounds to believe that a hazard to the safety or security of the public, or employees of a company or a detriment to property or the environment is being or will be caused by the construction, operation, maintenance or abandonment of the pipeline, or excavation activity or construction of a facility as per 49(2)(a).

Therefore, Information not available is HEREBY ORDERED,

pursuant to sections 51.1 and 51.1(2) of the National Energy Board Act, to

 X  take measures specified below for guarding the safety or security of the public or employees or protecting property or the environment
 X  Suspend work until the hazard or detrimental situation has been remedied to the satisfaction of the inspection officer; or the order is stayed or rescinded by the Board

Specified Measures:

– TCPL shall not excavate any station piping until:

  1. TCPL provides documented evidence to the NEB Inspectors for review and approval that it has modified its Operating Procedure Pipeline Defect Assessment and Repair Procedures (ID # 003674615) to remove all references to the universal 2 mm MRWT value for blasting the pipe; and
  2. TCPL provides documented evidence to the NEB Inspectors for review and approval that it has included a MAWT calculation for each type of piping expected to be encountered considering all types of pipe grade, outside diameter (OD) and operating stress level in every Technical Memo.
Inspection Officer
Inspection Officer 1950


Information not available
__________________________________
Signature
IO Designation #
1 September 2016
Date
517 10th Avenue SW Calgary AB  T2R 0A8

 

Date modified:

Ordre GC-001-2016 à TransCanada PipeLines Limited en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Ordre GC-001-2016 à TransCanada PipeLines Limited en vertu de l’article 51.1 de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 51 ko]

Ordre d’inspecteur : GC-001-2016

RELATIVEMENT À LA LOI SUR L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE, ORDRE DÉLIVRÉ CONFORMÉMENT À L’ARTICLE 51.1

Information non disponible

travaille pour TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TransCanada) ou exécute des travaux d’excavation ou de construction près d’une installation située à toutes les stations exploitées par TransCanada.

Les 18 et 19 juillet 2016, l’inspecteur soussigné de l’Office national de l’énergie a fait l’inspection de la station de comptage Kingston.

L’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire ce qui suit :

– L’épaisseur de paroi minimale restante de 2 mm, utilisée pour le procédé de pulvérisation sur la conduite et indiquée dans le document de TransCanada intitulé Operating Procedure Pipeline Defect Assessment and Repair Procedures (ID 003674615), pose un risque relié à la sécurité de tout le personnel affecté aux travaux d’excavation.

– La réponse de TransCanada à la question 2 de la demande de renseignements (DR) des inspecteurs de l’Office (justifier l’utilisation d’une valeur de 2 mm) est inacceptable et n’est pas conforme à l’article 10.2.8 de la norme CSA Z662-15.

– La réponse de TransCanada à la question 3 de la DR des inspecteurs de l’Office (inclure dans chaque document technique le calcul de l’épaisseur de paroi minimale acceptable pour déterminer la pression d’excavation sûre) est inacceptable et n’est pas conforme à l’article 10.2.8 de la norme CSA Z662-15.

En se fondant sur ce qui précède, l’inspecteur a des motifs raisonnables de croire que la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien ou la cessation d’exploitation du pipeline ou les travaux d’excavation ou de construction d’une installation visés par l’alinéa 49(2)a) posent une menace à la sécurité ou à la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société ou aux biens matériels ou à l’environnement.

Par conséquent, l’Office ordonne, à Information non disponible en vertu de l’article 51.1 et du paragraphe 51.1(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, ce qui suit :

 X  Prendre les mesures exposées dans le présent ordre afin d’assurer la sécurité ou la sûreté du public ou des employés de la société, ou la protection des biens ou de l’environnement.
 X  Suspendre les travaux jusqu’à ce que la situation qui présente un danger ait été corrigée d’une manière jugée satisfaisante par l’inspecteur ou jusqu’à ce que l’ordre ait été suspendu ou annulé par l’Office.

Mesures précises :

– TransCanada ne doit pas creuser autour de la tuyauterie des stations tant qu’elle :

  1. n’aura pas fourni aux inspecteurs de l’Office une preuve documentée, pour examen et approbation, que son document Operating Procedure Pipeline Defect Assessment and Repair Procedures (ID 003674615) a été modifié de sorte que soit supprimée toute mention de la valeur universelle d’épaisseur de paroi restante de 2 mm pour le procédé de pulvérisation de la conduite; et
  2. n’aura pas fourni aux inspecteurs de l’Office une preuve documentée, pour examen et approbation, qu’un calcul de l’épaisseur de paroi minimale acceptable pour chaque type de conduite pouvant être rencontrée aux endroits concernés, compte tenu de toutes les catégories de nuance, de diamètre extérieur et de taux de contrainte en service soit inclus dans chaque document technique.
Inspecteur
Inspecteur 1950


Information non disponible
__________________________________
Signature
No de désignation de l’ordre de l’inspecteur
1er septembre 2016
Date
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8

 

Date de modification :