Fact Sheet: Management of Oil and Gas Resources in the Canadian Arctic Offshore

Fact Sheet: Management of Oil and Gas Resources in the Canadian Arctic Offshore [Inuktitut: PDF 75 KB]

A company wishing to drill in the Canadian Arctic offshore must apply to the National Energy Board (NEB) for a drilling authorization. However, the Company first obtains an Exploration Licence. An Exploration Licence gives a company the right to explore for, and the exclusive right to drill and test for oil and gas. This licence, issued by the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, is granted for up to nine years.

The process for getting oil and gas rights to land owned by the Government of Canada, including land under the ocean, is called the rights issuance process. Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) manages this process, which is similar to an auction. This process falls under the Canada Petroleum Resources Act. Further, INAC manages royalties, and must either approve or waive the requirement for a benefits plan, before the NEB can consider issuing an authorization.

The NEB, as an independent regulator, grants authorizations and approvals for oil and gas exploration and production activities under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA). Under COGOA the NEB assesses, amongst other things, safety, protection of the environment, and conservation of oil and gas resources.

This means that the economic side of Arctic offshore oil and gas exploration and development is clearly separated from the safety, environmental, conservation, and technical issues. There is a clear separation between issuing oil and gas rights and issuing a regulatory authorization to drill.

List of activities and responsible organizations
Activity Responsible Organization
Issue Exploration Licences Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Issue Authorizations and Approvals for wells National Energy Board
Operations regulatory oversight
- Compliance verification
National Energy Board
Issue Significant Discovery Declarations National Energy Board
Issue Significant Discovery Licences Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Issue Commercial Discovery Declarations National Energy Board
Issue Development Plan Approval National Energy Board  with the consent of the Governor in Council
Issue Production Licences Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Operations regulatory oversight
- Compliance verification
National Energy Board
Manage royalties from oil and gas production Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada is also responsible for reviewing benefits plans for a proposed project. A benefits plan is a plan for the employment of Canadians and for providing Canadian companies with a fair opportunity to participate in the supply of goods and services.

The company is expected to develop these plans in consultation with the affected communities and land claim organizations where the proposed oil and gas activity may take place. A company is also required to submit an annual report to INAC which describes the employment, training, and business benefits that occurred from the oil or gas activity.

More information can be found online:

National Energy Board – North/Offshore www.neb-one.gc.ca
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada - Northern Oil and Gas www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements : Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans la zone extracôtière de l’Arctique canadien

Fiche de renseignements : Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans la zone extracôtière de l’Arctique canadien [Inuktitut : PDF 75 ko]

Les sociétés qui veulent exercer des activités de forage au large des côtes de l’Arctique canadien doivent en demander l’autorisation à l’Office national de l’énergie. Elles doivent également obtenir au préalable un permis de prospection qui accorde au titulaire le droit de prospecter et le droit exclusif d’effectuer des forages et des essais pour trouver du pétrole et du gaz. Le permis, qui est délivré par le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada, a une durée maximum de neuf ans.

L’acquisition de droits gaziers et pétroliers sur des terres qui appartiennent au gouvernement du Canada, y compris le fond de l’océan, s’inscrit dans ce qu’on appelle le processus d’attribution des droits. Ce processus, semblable à une vente aux enchères, est administré par Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et relève de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures. De plus, l'AANC gère les redevances, et doit approuver un plan de retombées ou y renoncer, avant que l’Office puisse envisager d’accorder une autorisation.

L’Office, en tant qu’organisme indépendant, accorde les autorisations et les approbations requises pour les activités de prospection et de production pétrolières et gazières aux termes de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada. En vertu de cette loi, l’Office évalue entre autres la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et la conservation des ressources pétrolières et gazières.

C’est donc dire que l’aspect économique de la prospection et de la mise en valeur du gaz et du pétrole dans l’océan Arctique est nettement séparé des questions techniques, environnementales, de sécurité et de conservation des ressources. Il y a donc une nette séparation entre l’attribution des droits pétroliers et gaziers et l’autorisation réglementaire de forer un puits.

Liste des activités et des organismes responsables
Activité Organisme responsable
Délivrance de permis de prospection Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Autorisations et approbations pour les puits Office national de l’énergie
Surveillance réglementaire des opérations
- Vérification de la conformité
Office national de l’énergie
Déclaration de découverte importante Office national de l’énergie
Délivrance de licences de découverte importante Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Déclaration de découverte exploitable Office national de l’énergie
Approbation de plans de mise en valeur Office national de l’énergie avec l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil
Délivrance de licences de production Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Surveillance réglementaire des opérations
- Vérification de la conformité
Office national de l’énergie
Gestion des redevances provenant de la production pétrolière et gazière Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada est aussi responsable d’examiner le plan de retombées économiques relié au projet envisagé. Ce plan prévoit l’embauche de Canadiens et offre aux sociétés canadiennes une juste possibilité de participer à la fourniture de produits et services.

Les sociétés devraient élaborer le plan de retombées de concert avec les collectivités touchées et les organismes de revendication territoriale là où les activités pétrolières et gazières pourraient se dérouler. Les sociétés doivent aussi présenter un rapport annuel à l'AANC pour rendre compte des retombées provenant des activités pétrolières ou gazières en termes d’emplois, de formation et de débouchés commerciaux.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles en ligne :

Office national de l’énergie - Nord / En mer www.neb-one.gc.ca
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada - Ressources pétrolières du Nord www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Date de modification :