Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Express Pipeline Limited Partnership’s Express Pipeline

Table 9.1.1: Express Pipeline Limited Partnership’s Express Pipeline
Commodity and NEB Group Crude Oil
(Group 2)
Average Operating capacity 44 500 m³/d
(280 Mb/d)
Average utilization 2015 78%
Primary receipt points Hardisty, AB
Primary delivery points Casper, WY
Net-book value of PP&E 2014 $148 million
Abandonment Cost Estimate and Collection PeriodNote a $44.3 million;
40 years

Overview

The Express Pipeline (Express) transports light, medium, and heavy crude oil from western Canada to refiners in the U.S. Rockies region. At Casper, WY Express connects with the Platte Pipeline, which transports crude oil to refineries in Kansas and Illinois. Express Pipeline Limited Partnership owns and operates the Canadian portion of Express, and is regulated by the NEB. The U.S. portion is owned and operated by Express Pipeline LLC and is regulated by the U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

Map – Express Pipeline

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Express Pipeline System.

Key Developments

In March 2013, Spectra Energy Corp. (Spectra) acquired Express-Platte Pipeline System for $1.49 billion from a partnership of Kinder Morgan, Borealis Infrastructure and the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan.

Through a 2013 open season, contracted commitments on Express were increased from 18 900 m³/d (119 Mb/d) to 35 800 m³/d (225 Mb/d). These contracts cover 80% of the design capacity and have an average term of approximately ten years.

In May 2015, FERC approved an expansion of Express U.S. pipeline capacity from 39 700 m³/d (250 Mb/b) to 43 100 m³/d (271 Mb/d). The target in-service-date for the expansion is Q4 2016.

Utilization

Figure 9.1.1 illustrates throughput and capacity on Express. Throughput averaged about 31 000 m³/d (196 Mb/d) in 2014. In 2015, throughput averaged 34 700 m³/d (219 Mb/d).

Figure 9.1.1: Express Throughput vs. Capacity

Figure 9.1.1: Express Throughput vs. Capacity

Sources: Express, NEB

Text version of this graphic

This bar chart shows throughput and capacity for the Express Pipeline between 2010 and 2015. Capacity in 2015 was 44.5 10³m³/d (280 Mb/d). Throughput averaged 34.7 10³m³/d (219 Mb/d) in 2015, compared to 31 10³m³/d (196 Mb/d) in 2014.

Tolls

Figure 9.1.2 shows that the Express benchmark toll (uncommitted toll for Light Petroleum from Hardisty to the U.S. border) moved roughly in-line with the GDP deflator (normalized) between 2010-15. Express’ tolls are regulated on a complaint basis.

Figure 9.1.2: Express Benchmark Toll

Figure 9.1.2: Express Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the Express benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The graph shows a steady slight increase in tolls from $3.63 in 2010 to approximately $4.00 in 2015.

Financial

Increased utilization rates and continued depreciation of debt have led to higher revenues and stronger coverage ratios. Credit ratings remain investment grade. After Spectra purchased Express in 2013, $203 million of goodwill was removed from its balance sheet, which is reflected in the partners’ equity.

Table 9.1.2: Express Pipeline Limited Partnership – Yearly
Express Pipeline Limited Partnership 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenues (millions)Note a $47.7 $51.6 $55.97 $61.2 $70.8 $92.1
Net Income (millions) $10.2 $9.2 $17.1 $13.2 $20.1 $30.1
Partner’s Equity (millions) $287.2 $296.4 $296.7 $96.9 $101.6 $98.6
Interest and Fixed-Charges Coverage RatioNote b 3.11 4.23 6.29 8.66 11.38 16.7
Cash Flow-to-Total Debt and Equivalents Ratio 24.9% 34.9% 51.2% 70.3% 95.1% 139.0%
DBRS Credit Rating A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low) A (low)
Moody’s Credit Rating Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Pipeline Express d’Express Pipeline Limited Partnership

Tableau 9.1.1 : Pipeline Express d’Express Pipeline Limited Partnership
Produit et groupe de l’Office Pétrole brut
Groupe 2
Capacité annuelle moyenne 44 500 m³/j (280 kb/j)
Taux d’utilisation moyen en 2015 78 %
Point de réception principal Hardisty (Alb.)
Point de livraison principal Casper (Wyom.)
Valeur comptable nette des immobilisations corporelles en 2014 148 M$
Coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation et période de prélèvementNote a 44,3 M$
40 ans

Aperçu

Le pipeline Express (Express) transporte du pétrole brut léger, moyen et lourd de l’ouest du Canada jusqu’aux raffineurs de la région des Rocheuses américaines. Il se raccorde au pipeline Platte à Casper, au Wyoming, pour les expéditions en direction des raffineries du Kansas et de l’Illinois. Le tronçon canadien du pipeline est détenu et exploité par Express Pipeline Limited Partnership et réglementé par l’Office, alors que le tronçon américain est détenu et exploité par Express Pipeline LLC et réglementé par la Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).

Map – Express Pipeline

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau pipelinier Express.

Faits marquants

En mars 2013, Spectra Energy Corp. (Spectra) a fait l’acquisition du réseau pipelinier Express-Platte, qui appartenait auparavant à Kinder Morgan, à Borealis Infrastructure et au Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario, pour 1,49 milliard de dollars.

À la suite d’un appel de soumissions en 2013, la capacité d’Express visée par des contrats est passée de 18 900 m³/j (119 kb/j) à 35 800 m³/j (225 kb/j). Ces contrats représentent environ 80 % de la capacité nominale et ont une durée moyenne d’environ dix ans.

En mai 2015, la FERC a approuvé l’augmentation de la capacité du tronçon américain, qui passera de 39 700 m³/j (250 kb/j) à 43 100 m³/j (271 kb/j). La mise en service devrait avoir lieu au quatrième trimestre de 2016).

Utilisation

La figure 9.1.1 indique le débit et la capacité d’Express. Le débit moyen était de 31 000 m³/j (196 kb/j) en 2014 et de 34 700 m³/j (219 kb/j) en 2015.

Figure 9.1.1 : Débit et capacité d’Express

Figure 9.1.1 : Débit et capacité d’Express

Source : Express, Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique à barres indique le débit et la capacité du pipeline Express de 2010 à 2015. La capacité était de 44,5 10³m³/j (280 kb/j) en 2015. Le débit moyen était de 34,7 10³m³/j (219 kb/j) en 2015, et de 31 10³m³/j (196 kb/j) en 2014.

Droits

La figure 9.1.2 indique que les droits repères d’Express, soit les droits non engagés pour le transport de pétrole léger de Hardisty jusqu’à la frontière canado-américaine, ont varié plus ou moins au même rythme que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits d’Express sont réglementés en fonction des plaintes.

Figure 9.1.2 : Droits repères d’Express

Figure 9.1.2 : Droits repères d’Express

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère d’Express (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Il montre que le droit a augmenté légèrement de façon constante, passant de 3,63 $/m³ en 2010 à environ 4,00 $/m³ en 2015.

Données financières

L’augmentation des taux d’utilisation et la diminution continue de la dette ont entraîné une hausse des produits et des ratios de couverture. Les cotes de solvabilité sont toujours de catégorie investissement. Après que Spectra a acheté Express en 2013, un écart d’acquisition de 203 millions de dollars a été soustrait de son bilan, ce qui se reflète dans l’avoir des sociétaires.

Tableau 9.1.2 : Express Pipeline Limited Partnership – Données annuelles
Express Pipeline Limited Partnership 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Produits (en millions)Note a 47,7 $ 51,6 $ 55,97 $ 61,2 $ 70,8 $ 92,1 $
Bénéfice net (en millions) 10,2 $ 9,2 $ 17,1 $ 13,2 $ 20,1 $ 30,1 $
Avoir des sociétaires (en millions) 287,2 $ 296,4 $ 296,7 $ 96,9 $ 101,6 $ 98,6 $
Ratio de couverture des intérêts et des charges fixesNote b 3,11 4,23 6,29 8,66 11,38 16,7
Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-dette 24,9 % 34,9 % 51,2 % 70,3 % 95,1 % 139,0 %
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par DBRS A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible) A (faible)
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par Moody’s Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1 Baa1
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :