Canada’s Pipeline Transportation System 2016

Plains Midstream Canada ULC - Wascana Pipeline Line Ltd.’s Wascana Pipeline

Table 9.8.1: Plains Midstream Canada ULC – Wascana Pipeline Line Ltd.’s Wascana Pipeline
Commodity and NEB Group Crude oil, petroleum products, NGLs
(Group 2)
Average 2015 throughput 1 540 m³/d
(9.7 mb/d)
Primary receipt points Raymond Station, Sheridan County, MT
Primary delivery points Plains Terminal, Regina, SK
Abandonment Cost Estimate and Collection PeriodNote a $12.5 million;
40 years

Overview

The Wascana Pipeline (Wascana) is 172 km in length and runs from the U.S. border to the Plains Terminal in Regina, SK. At Regina, Wascana connects with the Enbridge Mainline. Wascana transports light oil from the Bakken region in North Dakota via a connection with the Bakken North Pipeline. Wascana is owned by Plains Midstream Canada ULC (PMC).

Map – Wascana Pipeline

Source: NEB

Text version of this map

This map provides an overview of the Wascana Pipeline System from the Montana-Saskatchewan border north to near Regina.

Key Developments

In October 2011 the Board issued Order SO-P384-004-2011 reducing the maximum operating pressure on Wascana until pipeline integrity concerns were addressed. After verifying that PMC fulfilled the requirements of the 2011 order, the restriction was lifted by the Board in Order SO-P384-001-2014.

Wascana was used for oil storage from 2009 to December 2011 when it was taken out of service for repairs. Repairs were completed in December 2012 and the pipeline was deactivated from January 2013 to April 2014.

In October 2012, PMC applied to the Board to reverse the flow of Wascana, enabling it to transport light crude oil from the Bakken region across the U.S.-Canadian border to the Plains Terminal in Regina, SK. The reversal was approved by the Board in May 2013 and Wascana began transporting crude oil in April 2014.

Tolls

Figure 9.8.1 shows the Wascana benchmark toll for light crude oil from the U.S. border to Regina and the GDP deflator normalized for 2010-2015. Tolls for 2014 and 2015 were $5.54 per m³ ($0.88/b) reflecting rates agreed to with shippers for the pipeline reversal. Wascana tolls are regulated on a complaint basis.

Figure 9.8.1: Wascana Benchmark Toll

Figure 9.8.1: Wascana Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the Plains Midstream (Wascana) Line benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. In 2014 and 2015 the toll was $5.54.

Financial

Wascana’s revenue was zero for 2010-2013, while it was out of service. The pipeline reversal project added $5.6 million to Wascana’s capital base.

Table 9.8.2:Wascana Pipeline – Yearly
Wascana Pipeline 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Transportation Revenues (millions) $0 $0 $0 $0 $3.0 $3.5
Assets (millions) $3.8 $3.7 $9.2 $9.2 $9.2 $9.3
Photos: left: A pump jack silhouetted against the setting sun; centre: The grey valves and wheels of a pump station on clear day; right: Folded hands hold a pen on a board room table in a large meeting room.

 

Date modified:

Le réseau pipelinier du Canada 2016

Plains Midstream Canada ULC – Pipeline Wascana de Wascana Pipeline Ltd.

Tableau 9.8.1: Plains Midstream Canada ULC – Wascana Pipeline Line Ltd.’s Wascana Pipeline
Produits et groupe de l’Office Pétrole brut, produits pétroliers et LGN
Groupe 2
Débit moyen en 2015 1 540 m³/j
(9,7 kb/j)
Point de réception principal Station Raymond, comté de Sheridan (Mont.)
Point de livraison principal Terminal de Plains, Regina (Sask.)
Coûts estimatifs de cessation d’exploitation et période de prélèvement Note a 12,5 M$
40 ans

Aperçu

D’une longueur de 172 km, le pipeline Wascana (Wascana) relie la frontière canado-américaine au terminal de Plains à Regina, en Saskatchewan, où il se raccorde au réseau principal d’Enbridge. Il est également raccordé au pipeline Bakken North, dans le Dakota du Nord, à partir duquel il transporte du pétrole léger en provenance de la région de Bakken. Il appartient à Plains Midstream Canada ULC (PMC).

Carte – Pipeline Wascana

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Cette carte donne une vue d’ensemble du réseau pipelinier Wascana, qui va de la frontière entre le Montana et la Saskatchewan aux alentours de Regina.

Faits marquants

En octobre 2011, l’Office a rendu l’ordonnance SO P384-004-2011, imposant la réduction de la pression maximale d’exploitation de Wascana jusqu’à ce que les problèmes d’intégrité aient été réglés. Cette restriction a été levée par l’ordonnance SO-P384-001-2014 une fois qu’il a été confirmé que PMC avait rempli toutes les exigences de l’ordonnance de 2011.

Wascana a servi au stockage du pétrole de 2009 jusqu’à sa mise hors service en vue de réparations, en décembre 2011. Ces réparations ont été terminées en décembre 2012, et le pipeline est demeuré désactivé de janvier 2013 à avril 2014.

En octobre 2012, PMC a soumis à l’Office une demande visant l’inversion du sens d’écoulement de Wascana afin de transporter du pétrole brut léger de la région de Bakken jusqu’au terminal de Plains, à Regina, en traversant la frontière. Cette demande a été approuvée en mai 2013, et le transport de pétrole brut a débuté en avril 2014.

Droits

La figure 9.8.1 indique les droits repères de Wascana pour le transport de pétrole brut de la frontière canado-américaine jusqu’à Regina ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits de 2014 et de 2015 étaient de 5,54 $/m³ (0,88 $/b), compte tenu des tarifs convenus avec les expéditeurs pour l’inversion du sens d’écoulement. Les droits sont réglementés en fonction des plaintes.

Figure 9.8.1 : Droits repères de Wascana

Figure 9.8.1 : Droits repères de Wascana

Source : Office national de l'énergie

Version textuelle de la carte

Ce graphique présente le droit repère de Plains Midstream (Wascana) (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Il montre qu’en 2014 et en 2015, le droit s’établissait à 5,54 $/m³.

Risque financier

Wascana n’a généré aucun produit de 2010 à 2013, pendant qu’il était hors service. Son capital de base a augmenté de 5,6 millions de dollars grâce au projet d’inversion.

Tableau 9.8.2 : Pipeline Wascana – Données annuelles
Pipeline Wascana 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Recettes au titre du transport (en millions) 0 $ 0 $ 0 $ 0 $ 3,0 $ 3,5 $
Actif (en millions) 3,8 $ 3,7 $ 9,2 $ 9,2 $ 9,2 $ 9,3 $
Photos: gauche: Silhouette d’un appareil de pompage au soleil couchant; centre: Vannes et volants de manœuvre d’une station de pompage par une journée ensoleillée; droit: Deux mains tenant un stylo pendant une réunion.

 

Date de modification :