Pipeline Profiles: Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline – Canadian Mainline

Sources: Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline LP., NEB

Text version of this graphic

M&NP was commissioned in December 1999 to transport natural gas produced from the Sable Offshore Energy Project to markets in the U.S. Northeast. It currently also transports offshore natural gas from the Deep Panuke project, and supply from the McCully gas field in New Brunswick. M&NP can flow bi-directionally and natural gas will flow from the U.S. into Canada when offshore production is insufficient to meet domestic demand. Incremental supply comes from the Canaport LNG import terminal via the Brunswick Pipeline or from the Portland Natural Gas Transmission System.

In 2016, export capacity at St. Stephen averaged 13.33 million cubic metres per day (0.47 billion cubic feet per day) and throughput averaged 0.68 million cubic metres per day (0.02 billion cubic feet per day). The average export utilization of St. Stephen in 2016 was 4%. In 2016, import capacity at St. Stephen averaged 13.33 million cubic metres per day (0.47 billion cubic feet per day) and throughput averaged 0.62 million cubic metres per day (0.02 billion cubic feet per day). The average import utilization of St. Stephen in 2016 was also 4%.

Flows measured at St. Stephen are imports and exports. The Canadian Mainline segment of the Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline connects to the U.S. segment at the Canada/U.S. border near St. Stephen, New Brunswick.

The physical capacity of a pipeline is based on many factors such as the product(s) being carried, direction of flow, ambient temperature, pipeline compression, and maintenance work or other pressure restrictions. The operational capacity at each key point may also reflect contracts for transportation service, and supply and demand across the system. The actual physical capacity of the pipeline may be higher than the assumed operational capacity stated here.

Open data can be freely used, modified and shared by anyone for any purpose. The data for these graphs are available here.

Key Developments

Last updated: August 2016

Natural gas supply from offshore Nova Scotia declined in 2015. In mid-May, production at Deep Panuke was shut-in and Encana (the operator) announced that the project would produce only during the winter months when demand and gas prices are highest. In addition, Deep Panuke’s reserve estimate was cut by half due to higher than expected water incursion into the reservoir. Production at Sable in 2015 remained steady averaging 4 106m³/d (0.14 Bcf/d); however, the project is in long-term decline.

Regulatory Documents

Last updated: August 2016

Tolls

Last updated: August 2016

M&NP uses a ‘postage stamp’ tolling model in which the toll is the same for all paths on the system regardless of the distance travelled.  M&NP has been operating under a toll settlement for 2014-2016. Figure 1 shows M&NP’s benchmark toll (MN365 Toll) and the GDP deflator (normalized) for 2010-2015. The benchmark toll declined slightly in 2012 and 2013 due to lower revenue requirements, and in 2014 as the rate base decreased with depreciation.

Figure 1: M&NP Benchmark Toll

Figure 1: M&NP Benchmark Toll

Source: NEB toll filings

Text version of this graphic

This graph shows the M&NP benchmark toll as a solid red line and the GDP deflator as a black dashed line. The benchmark toll decreased slightly over the period from $0.76 in 2010 to $0.72 in 2015.

Financial

Last updated: August 2016

Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline L.P.’s financial ratios have improved due to the reduction of debt over time. DBRS has maintained its credit rating at “A” due to its predictable cash flows which are a result of firm transportation contracts with investment grade shippers, a backstop provided by ExxonMobil Canada, and a tolling methodology that is regulated on a cost of service basis.

Table 1: Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline L.P.
Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline L.P. 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Revenues (millions) $140.7 $142.4 $133.3 $138.7 $141.6 $119.9
Fixed Costs (millions) $23.9 $25.1 $24.7 $23.0 $26.0 $25.9
Rate Base (millions) $591.3 $571.3 $528.0 $492.3 $445.2 $401.4
Return on Equity 6.45% 5.96% 5.55% 5.51% 6.87% 7.32%
Interest and Fixed-Charges Coverage RatioTable Note a 3.41 2.78 2.8 3.03 3.49 3.79
Cash Flow to Total Debt and Equivalents RatioTable Note a 22.2% 23.9% 25.9% 30.2% 38.8% 42.6%
DBRS Credit Rating A A A A A A
Moody’s Credit Rating A2 A2 A2 A2 A2 A2

 

Date modified:

Profils des sociétés pipelinières : Réseau de Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline LP.

Source : Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline LP., Office

Version textuelle du graphique

Le gazoduc de M&NP est entré en service en décembre 1999; il transporte le gaz naturel produit au projet énergétique extracôtier de l’île de Sable vers les marchés du Nord-Est des États-Unis. Il achemine aussi le gaz naturel produit au large des côtes au projet de Deep Panuke et la production du champ gazier McCully, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Le gazoduc M&NP pouvant être opéré dans les deux directions, il permet d’importer du gaz naturel des États-Unis quand la production extracôtière ne satisfait pas la demande intérieure. Le pipeline Brunswick Pipeline ou le réseau Portland Natural Gas Transmission System transportent des volumes supplémentaires depuis le terminal d’importation de GNL Canaport.

En 2016, la capacité d’exportation à St. Stephen s’est établie en moyenne à 13,33 millions de mètres cubes par jour (0,47 milliard de pieds cubes par jour); le débit, en moyenne à 0,68 million de mètres cubes par jour (0,02 milliard de pieds cubes par jour). L’utilisation moyenne de St. Stephen pour l’exportation a représenté 4 % en 2016. En 2016, la capacité d’importation à St. Stephen s’est établie en moyenne à 13,33 millions de mètres cubes par jour (0,47 milliard de pieds cubes par jour); le débit, en moyenne à 0,62 million de mètres cubes par jour (0,02 milliard de pieds cubes par jour). L’utilisation moyenne de St. Stephen pour l’importation a représenté 4 % en 2016.

Les débits mesurés à St. Stephen concernent des importations et des exportations. Le tronçon du réseau principal au Canada du pipeline Maritime & Northeast se raccorde au tronçon américain à la frontière canado-américaine près de St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

La capacité physique d’un pipeline dépend de nombreux éléments, tels que le produit transporté, le sens d’écoulement, la température ambiante, la capacité de compression du pipeline, les travaux d’entretien et les restrictions de pression. La capacité opérationnelle à chacun des points principaux peut également dépendre des contrats de transport, ainsi que de l’offre et de la demande visant le réseau. Il est par conséquent possible que la capacité physique réelle du pipeline soit supérieure à la capacité opérationnelle supposée qui est indiquée aux présentes.

Les données ouvertes peuvent être utilisées, modifiées et partagées sans contrainte par quiconque, à n’importe quelle fin. Les données ayant servi à créer ces graphiques se trouvent ici.

Faits marquants

Mise à jour : août 2016

L’approvisionnement en gaz naturel en provenance de la zone extracôtière de la Nouvelle-Écosse a diminué en 2015. À la mi-mai, Encana a interrompu la production à Deep Panuke, dont elle est l’exploitante, et a annoncé qu’elle ne reprendrait qu’en hiver, alors que la demande et les prix du gaz sont au plus haut. De plus, la société a divisé de moitié son estimation des réserves du projet en raison d’une infiltration d’eau plus importante que prévue dans le réservoir. La production de l’île de Sable est demeurée stable en 2015 à 4 106m³/j (0,14 Gpi³/j) en moyenne. Cependant, le projet est voué à un déclin à long terme.

Documents de réglementation

Mise à jour : août 2016

Droits

Mise à jour : août 2016

Le réseau utilise un système de droits timbre-poste dans lequel les droits sont les mêmes pour tous les parcours du réseau, peu importe la distance de transport. Le réseau a fait l’objet d’un règlement sur les droits de 2014 à 2016. La figure 1 indique les droits repères (droits MN365) ainsi que le déflateur du PIB (normalisé) de 2010 à 2015. Les droits repères ont légèrement diminué en 2012 et en 2013, en raison de la baisse des besoins en produits, et en 2014, à cause de la baisse de la base tarifaire entraînée par l’amortissement.

Figure 1 : Droits repères de M&NP

Figure 1 : Droits repères de M&NP

Source : Documents concernant les droits présentés à l’Office national de l’énergie

Version textuelle du graphique

Ce graphique présente le droit repère du réseau de M&NP (ligne pleine rouge) et le déflateur du PIB (tireté noir). Le droit repère a légèrement diminué durant cette période, passant de 0,76 $/GJ en 2010 à 0,72 $/GJ en 2015.

Données financières

Mise à jour : août 2016

Les ratios financiers de M&NP se sont améliorés en raison de la réduction progressive de la dette. DBRS maintient la cote de solvabilité de A qu’il a attribuée à la société grâce aux flux de trésorerie prévisibles découlant de contrats de service garanti avec des expéditeurs de catégorie investissement, la garantie offerte par ExxonMobil Canada et la conception des droits réglementée en fonction du coût du service.

Tableau 1 : Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline LP
Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline LP 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Produits (en millions) 140,7 $ 142,4 $ 133,3 $ 138,7 $ 141,6 $ 119,9 $
Bénéfice net (en millions) 23,9 $ 25,1 $ 24,7 $ 23,0 $ 26,0 $ 25,9 $
Base tarifaire (en millions) 591,3 $ 571,3 $ 528,0 $ 492,3 $ 445,2 $ 401,4 $
Rendement du capital-actions 6,45 % 5,96 % 5,55 % 5,51 % 6,87 % 7,32 %
Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-detteNote de tableau a 3,41 2,78 2,8 3,03 3,49 3,79
Ratio flux de trésorerie/dette totale et quasi-detteNote de tableau a 22,2% 23,9 % 25,9 % 30,2 % 38,8 % 42,6 %
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par DBRS A A A A A A
Cote de solvabilité attribuée par Moody’s A2 A2 A2 A2 A2 A2

 

Date de modification :