Market Snapshot: Appetite for Domestic Crude Oil Increasing at Canadian Refineries

Release Date: 2015-03-19

Refineries in Canada use crude oil from domestic and foreign sources, depending on their location. In recent years, some Canadian refineries have transitioned from offshore imports to western Canadian and U.S. produced oil.

According to Statistics Canada, domestic crude oil received by Canadian refineries increased 10 per cent in the first 11 months of 2014 compared to 2013, while imported crude oil fell 15 per cent. There was a seven per cent net reduction of Canadian refining capacity over that period, yet, total crude oil processed at the refineries was practically unchanged at 1.7 million b/d. Of the crude oil that Canada does import, the share from the U.S. has increased from 20 percent of the total imports in 2013 to over half of imports in 2014.

Crude oil sourced in North America has become more attractive to refiners in recent years due to discounted prices compared to crude oil produced offshore. More details on the changing sources of Canadian crude oil imports can be found in this Market Snapshot from November 2014.

Figure Source and Description

Source: Statistics Canada

Description: This bar chart depicts receipts of domestic and imported crude oil at Canadian refineries. Receipts of imported crude oil were relatively stable from 2010 to 2012 before declining at an average rate of 14 per cent per year in 2013 and 2014. Domestic crude oil used at Canadian refineries is fairly steady from 2010 to 2012 at approximately 1,000 thousand barrels per day before increasing to nearly 1,200 thousand barrels per day in 2014.

As western Canadian refineries rely mostly on domestically sourced crude oil, the displacement of imports has been in eastern Canada. In Ontario, domestic supply from western Canada shipped by pipeline fully displaced imports in early 2014.

The Atlantic Provinces and Quebec do not yet have pipeline access to western Canadian oil and still process significant amounts of imported oil. However, the development of rail offloading facilities at eastern Canadian refineries, and potential new pipeline projects, could allow more Canadian production to be delivered to these refineries.

In Quebec, western Canadian oil started to arrive by in significant quantities in late 2012, and started to displace overseas imports as well as eastern Canadian crude oil. The start-up of Enbridge’s Line 9 reversal project, which would flow from Sarnia, Ontario to Montreal, Quebec, would allow pipeline deliveries of western Canadian crude oil to Quebec.

In the Atlantic Provinces, the proportion of domestic and foreign crude oil consumed has not changed significantly. However, in 2013 and 2014, refineries in the region increasingly used western Canadian crude oil while crude oil produced in eastern Canada was shipped to other markets.

 

Date modified:

Aperçu du marché : Goût plus marqué des raffineries du pays pour le pétrole brut canadien

Date de diffusion : 2015-03-19

Selon l’endroit où elles se trouvent, les raffineries canadiennes s’approvisionnent en pétrole brut produit au pays ou à l’étranger. Ces dernières années, certaines d’entre elles ont délaisse les importations d’outre-mer au profit du pétrole produit dans l’Ouest canadien et aux États-Unis.

Selon Statistique Canada, pendant les onze premiers mois de 2014 comparativement à la même période de 2013, les raffineries du pays ont augmenté leur consommation de pétrole brut canadien de 10 % alors que les importations ont reculé de 15 %. Même si leur capacité de raffinage nette pendant cette période a régressé de 7 %, la quantité totale de pétrole brut raffiné n’a pratiquement pas changé à 1,7 million de barils par jour. Au chapitre des importations, la part du pétrole brut américain est passée de 20 % en 2013 à plus de 50 % en 2014.

Depuis quelques années, les raffineurs sont davantage attirés par le pétrole brut produit en Amérique du Nord compte tenu des prix plus faibles par rapport à celui produit outre mer. Pour d’autres détails au sujet des nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement en pétrole brut importé au Canada, le lecteur est prié de consulter l'Aperçu de marché de novembre 2014.

Source et description de la figure

Source : Statistique Canada

Description : Ce graphique à barres illustre les arrivages de pétrole brut, produit au pays et à l’étranger, aux raffineries canadiennes. Ils ont été relativement stables de 2010 à 2012, avant une diminution moyenne de 14 % par année en 2013 et 2014. Toujours de 2010 à 2012, le pétrole brut d’origine canadienne est lui aussi assez stable, se situant autour de 1,0 million de barils par jours, mais cette quantité passe à presque 1,2 million de barils par jour en 2014.

Puisque les raffineries de l’Ouest canadien s’approvisionnent surtout en pétrole brut produit au pays, c’est dans l’Est du Canada que le mouvement des importations a été perceptible. En Ontario, au début de 2014, le pétrole de l’Ouest canadien transporté par pipeline a complètement évincé les importations.

En l’absence de pipelines acheminant du pétrole de l’Ouest canadien jusqu’aux provinces de l’Atlantique et au Québec, les importations y sont encore importantes. Toutefois, l’aménagement d’installations de déchargement de wagons de chemin de fer dans les raffineries de l’Est du Canada, ainsi que la possibilité de nouveaux projets pipeliniers, pourraient permettre d’augmenter la part de produits canadiens qui y sont raffinés.

Vers la fin de 2012, des quantités considérables de pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien ont commencé à arriver au Québec, déplaçant du coup des importations d’outre-mer et de pétrole brut provenant de l’Est du pays. La mise en service du projet d’inversion du sens de l’écoulement de la canalisation 9 d’Enbridge, de Sarnia, en Ontario, jusqu’à Montréal, permettrait des livraisons par pipeline de pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien jusqu’au Québec.

Dans les provinces de l’Atlantique, la part respective de pétrole brut produit au pays et à l’étranger n’a pas changé de façon significative. Cependant, en 2013 et en 2014, les raffineries de cette région ont utilisé plus de pétrole brut de l’Ouest canadien, celui produit dans l’Est du Canada étant expédié vers d’autres marchés.

 

Date de modification :