About the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is an independent national energy regulator. Its role is to regulate, among other things, the construction, operation and abandonment of pipelines that cross provincial or international borders, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines, imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas liquids, natural gas, refined petroleum products, and electricity, and oil and gas exploration and production activities in certain areas. The NEB is also charged with providing timely, accurate and objective information and advice on energy matters.

The NEB’s strategic outcome states: The Regulation of pipelines, power lines, energy development and energy trade contributes to the safety of Canadians, the protection of the environment and efficient energy infrastructure and markets, while respecting the rights and interests of those affected by NEB decisions and recommendations.

The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

About this Report

The Board monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2017: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, is the continuation of the Energy Futures series, and projects long-term Canadian energy supply and demand trends.

EF 2017 was prepared by National Energy Board technical staff under the Direction of Abha Bhargava (abha.bhargava@neb-one.gc.ca), Director, Energy Integration, Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca), Andrea Oslanski (andrea.oslanski@neb-one.gc.ca) Project Managers – Energy Futures. Specific questions about the information in this report may be directed to: General Questions energyfutures@neb-one.gc.ca  Key Drivers and Macroeconomics: Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca) Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca). Energy Demand: Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca), Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca),Ken Newel (ken.newel@neb-one.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca). Crude Oil: Peter Budgell (peter.budgell@neb-one.gc.ca). Refinery Balances: Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Natural Gas: Melanie Stogran (melanie.stogran@neb-one.gc.ca). Natural Gas Liquids: Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Electricity: Michael Nadew (michael.nadew@neb-one.gc.ca), Mantaj Hundal (mantaj.hundal@neb-one.gc.ca), Ryan Safton (ryan.safton@neb-one.gc.ca). Coal: Lukas Hansen (lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca).

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the NEB, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

 

Date modified:

À propos de l’Office national de l’énergie

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme de réglementation national indépendant du secteur énergétique. Son rôle consiste à réglementer, de la construction jusqu’à la cessation de leur exploitation, des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières provinciales et internationales, des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et des lignes interprovinciales désignées, tout comme les importations de gaz naturel et les exportations de ce même gaz, de ses liquides, de pétrole brut, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité, en plus des activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières ou gazières dans certaines régions. Il lui incombe par ailleurs de diffuser de l’information à jour, exacte et objective sur l’énergie, de même que de fournir des conseils sur des questions énergétiques.

Le résultat stratégique correspondant est que la réglementation des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie contribue à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience de l’infrastructure comme des marchés énergétiques, le tout dans le respect des droits et des intérêts des parties touchées par les décisions ou les recommandations de l’Office.

Les principales responsabilités de l’Office consistent à réglementer ce qui suit :

  • la construction, le fonctionnement et la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières internationales ou des limites provinciales/territoriales;
  • les droits et tarifs pipeliniers associés;
  • la construction et l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité comme de lignes interprovinciales désignées;
  • les importations de gaz naturel et les exportations de ce même gaz, de ses liquides, de pétrole brut, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité;
  • les activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières ou gazières, dans des zones extracôtières ou régions septentrionales précises.

À propos du présent rapport

L’Office surveille les marchés de l’énergie, évaluant les besoins du Canada en la matière et les tendances qui se dessinent afin de pouvoir mieux s’acquitter de ses responsabilités réglementaires. Le présent rapport, Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2017 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040, s’inscrit dans la lignée des documents produits antérieurement sur l’avenir énergétique et présente des projections tendancielles à long terme.

Le rapport Avenir énergétique 2017 a été préparé par le personnel technique de l’Office national de l’énergie sous la supervision d’Abha Bhargava (abha.bhargava@neb-one.gc.ca), directrice de l’intégration énergétique, ainsi que de Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca) et d’Andrea Oslanski (andrea.oslanski@neb-one.gc.ca), gestionnaires du projet. Si vous avez des questions précises au sujet de l’information présentée dans le rapport, vous pouvez les acheminer à l’une ou l’autre des adresses suivantes. Questions d’ordre général (avenirenergetique@neb-one.gc.ca). Principaux déterminants et macroéconomie : Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca), Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca). Demande d’énergie : Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca), Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca), Ken Newel (ken.newel@neb-one.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca). Pétrole brut : Peter Budgell (peter.budgell@neb-one.gc.ca). Bilan de raffinage : Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Gaz naturel : Melanie Stogran (melanie.stogran@neb-one.gc.ca). Liquides de gaz naturel : Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Électricité : Michael Nadew (michael.nadew@neb-one.gc.ca), Mantaj Hundal (mantaj.hundal@neb-one.gc.ca), Ryan Safton (ryan.safton@neb-one.gc.ca). Charbon : Lukas Hansen (Lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca).

Quiconque souhaite utiliser le présent rapport dans une instance réglementaire devant l’Office peut le soumettre à cette fin, comme c’est le cas pour tout autre document public. En agissant ainsi, la partie fait sienne l’information déposée et pourrait devoir répondre à des questions sur celle-ci.

 

Date de modification :