About the NEB

The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is an independent national energy regulator. Its role is to regulate, among other things, the construction, operation and abandonment of pipelines that cross provincial or international borders, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines, imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas liquids, natural gas, refined petroleum products, and electricity, and oil and gas exploration and production activities in certain areas. The NEB is also charged with providing timely, accurate and objective information and advice on energy matters.

The NEB’s strategic outcome states: The Regulation of pipelines, power lines, energy development and energy trade contributes to the safety of Canadians, the protection of the environment and efficient energy infrastructure and markets, while respecting the rights and interests of those affected by NEB decisions and recommendations.

The Board’s main responsibilities include regulating:

  • the construction, operation, and abandonment of pipelines that cross international borders or provincial/territorial boundaries;
  • associated pipeline tolls and tariffs;
  • the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, refined petroleum products, and electricity; and
  • oil and gas exploration and production activities in specified northern and offshore areas.

About this Report

The Board monitors energy markets and assesses Canadian energy requirements and trends to support its regulatory responsibilities. This report, Canada’s Energy Future 2017: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, is the continuation of the Energy Futures series, and projects long-term Canadian energy supply and demand trends.

EF 2017 was prepared by National Energy Board technical staff under the Direction of Abha Bhargava (abha.bhargava@neb-one.gc.ca), Director, Energy Integration, Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca), Andrea Oslanski (andrea.oslanski@neb-one.gc.ca) Project Managers – Energy Futures. Specific questions about the information in this report may be directed to: General Questions energyfutures@neb-one.gc.ca  Key Drivers and Macroeconomics: Bryce van Sluys (bryce.vansluys@neb-one.gc.ca) Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca). Energy Demand: Chris Doleman (chris.doleman@neb-one.gc.ca), Matthew Hansen (matthew.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca),Ken Newel (ken.newel@neb-one.gc.ca), Lukas Hansen (Lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca). Crude Oil: Peter Budgell (peter.budgell@neb-one.gc.ca). Refinery Balances: Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Natural Gas: Melanie Stogran (melanie.stogran@neb-one.gc.ca). Natural Gas Liquids: Jesus Rios (jesus.rios@neb-one.gc.ca). Electricity: Michael Nadew (michael.nadew@neb-one.gc.ca), Mantaj Hundal (mantaj.hundal@neb-one.gc.ca), Ryan Safton (ryan.safton@neb-one.gc.ca). Coal: Lukas Hansen (lukas.hansen@neb-one.gc.ca).

If a party wishes to rely on material from this report in any regulatory proceeding before the NEB, it may submit the material, just as it may submit any public document. Under these circumstances, the submitting party in effect adopts the material and that party could be required to answer questions pertaining to the material.

 

Date modified: