National Engagement Initiative

Promoting the safety of Canadians and protection of the natural environment are at the heart of the National Energy Board’s mandate. Our job is to enforce federal regulations that ensure pipelines are built, operated and abandoned in a way that protects our environment and respects the rights of landowners while safeguarding employees and the public.

Energy transportation is a key driver of our economy and the work we do on behalf of Canadians is to obtain pipeline companies’ compliance, deter future non-compliance, and prevent harm by using the most appropriate tool or tools available.

In order for us to do the best job possible, we want to know what Canadians are thinking when it comes to pipeline safety and environmental protection. In the coming months, I will be travelling across Canada to meet with Canadians and local organizations and listen to what they have to say. And I invite you, right now, to get the conversation started.

- Peter Watson, CEO and Chair
  National Energy Board

Learn more: Frequently Asked Questions

New

2016-01-12
National Energy Board releases National Engagement Tour report

Status

Pipeline safety and environmental protection are important to all Canadians.

Between 25 November 2014 and 3 June 2015 the NEB asked Canadians to help us to better understand how we can adjust our pipeline safety program, public engagement activities and communications.

The NEB hosted an online discussion forum, attended dozens of meetings across the country and hosted a Pipeline Safety Forum. The general themes were:

  1. Improve the safety of pipelines we regulate
  2. Promote environmental protection
  3. Engage with landowners and people who live near pipelines
  4. Keep Canadians informed about the topics they care about

The NEB will develop and make public a report on the feedback and NEB actions resulting from the engagement initiative. The report will reflect the cross-country meetings, the Pipeline Safety Forum and the online discussion forum.

Engagement and outreach to Canadians will continue to be a top priority of the NEB through its regional offices in Vancouver and Montreal, its hearing processes, and a new focus on engagement and outreach activities with Canadians across the country.

Why is it Important?

The more we understand the diversity of Canadians’ concerns, the better positioned we are to remain a world-class national energy regulator. We want to know how well you think we’re doing and ideas on how we can adjust our approach to pipeline safety and environmental protection.

Cross-Country Meetings

As one component of the NEB’s National Engagement Initiative, our CEO and Chair, Peter Watson, travelled across Canada to meet with Canadians and listen to what they have to say.

These meetings are in addition to the existing engagement efforts of Board. They are also outside of our regulatory process; they are not discussing any specific project. Instead, the focus was on hearing views regarding pipeline safety and environmental protection.

Meeting Summaries

Meeting summaries are intended to be high-level summaries of the key topics of discussion, for interest only.

News releases

National Energy Board releases National Engagement Tour report
[2016-01-12]

National Engagement Initiative concludes with successful pipeline safety forum
[2015-06-03]

National Energy Board to host Pipeline Safety Forum 2015
[2015-05-26]

NEB Chair Announces Cross-Canada Engagement Initiative
[2014-11-25]

Date modified:

Initiative nationale de mobilisation

La promotion de la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement naturel sont au cœur du mandat de l’Office. Notre travail consiste à appliquer les règlements fédéraux assurant la construction, l’exploitation et même la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines d’une manière qui protège notre environnement, les employés et le public, et qui respecte les droits des propriétaires fonciers.

Le transport de l’énergie est un vecteur clé de notre économie. Ainsi, au nom des Canadiens, l’Office entend se servir des outils les plus appropriés pour assujettir à la conformité les sociétés pipelinières, dissuader les comportements non conformes ultérieurs et prévenir les dommages.

Par souci d’excellence, nous invitons les Canadiens à nous faire part de leurs points de vue quant à la sécurité des pipelines et la protection de l’environnement. Au cours des prochains mois, je parcourrai le Canada afin de rencontrer les personnes ainsi que les organisations locales et d’écouter ce qu’ils ont à dire. Sur ce, je vous invite à entamer le dialogue.

- Peter Watson, président et premier dirigeant
Office national de l’énergie

Pour en savoir plus : Foire aux questions

Du neuf

2016-01-12
L’Office national de l’énergie publie le rapport sur l’Initiative nationale de mobilisation

Situation actuelle

La sécurité des pipelines et la protection de l’environnement sont importants pour l’ensemble des Canadiens.

Entre le 25 novembre 2014 et le 3 juin 2015, l’Office a demandé aux Canadiens de l’aider à mieux comprendre comment il peut améliorer son programme de sécurité des pipelines, les activités de participation du public et les communications.

L’Office a tenu un forum de discussion en ligne, des dizaines de réunions d’un bout à l’autre du pays de même qu’un forum sur la sécurité des pipelines. Les thèmes généraux étaient les suivants :

  1. Améliorer la sécurité des pipelines réglementés par l’Office
  2. Promouvoir la protection de l’environnement
  3. Discuter avec les propriétaires fonciers et les personnes qui habitent près des pipelines
  4. Tenir les Canadiens informés sur les sujets qui leur importent

L’Office produira et rendra public un rapport sur la rétroaction obtenue dans le cadre de l’initiative de mobilisation ainsi que sur les mesures qu’il prendra en conséquence. Ce rapport rendra compte des réunions tenues d’un bout à l’autre du pays, du forum sur la sécurité des pipelines et du forum de discussion en ligne.

La mobilisation et l’intervention directe de l’Office auprès des Canadiens demeureront hautement prioritaires, grâce aux bureaux régionaux à Montréal et Vancouver, aux processusd’audience et à l’attention nouvelle accordée à ces activités partout au pays.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

Une meilleure compréhension de la diversité des Canadiens nous aide à demeurer un organisme de réglementation de calibre mondial. Nous voulons connaître votre appréciation de notre travail et vos idées sur la manière dont nous pouvons améliorer la sécurité des pipelines et la protection de l’environnement.

Réunions d’un océan à l’autre

Dans le cadre de l’Initiative de mobilisation pancanadienne, notre président et premier dirigeant, Peter Watson, a parcouru le pays pour rencontrer les Canadiens et écouter ce qu’ils ont à dire.

Ces rencontres s’ajoutent aux efforts de participation existants de l’Office. Elles se déroulent en dehors de notre processus de réglementation; il n’y est question d’aucun projet en particulier. Elles visent à recueillir les points de vue concernant la sûreté des pipelines et la protection de l’environnement.

Sommaires des rencontres

Les sommaires des rencontres seront ajoutés dès qu’ils seront disponibles. Il s’agit de résumés de haut niveau des principaux sujets de discussion abordés, pour les personnes intéressées.

Communiqués

L’Office national de l’énergie publie le rapport sur l’Initiative nationale de mobilisation
[2016-01-12]

Fructueux forum sur la sécurité des pipelines en conclusion de l’Initiative nationale de mobilisation
[2015-06-03]

L’Office national de l’énergie sera l’hôte du Forum sur la sécurité des pipelines 2015
[2015-05-26]

Initiative de mobilisation pancanadienne annoncée par le président de l’Office national de l’énergie
[2014-11-25]

Date de modification :