Compensation For Easements

Compensation For Easements

Under the NEB Act, landowners are entitled to compensation from companies for the use of private property for pipeline or power line facilities. This includes when the company acquires permanent land rights, as well as other access to private lands.

Compensation is also to be provided for any damages caused by the company as a result of activities associated with their facilities. This could include:

  • damages to the lands
  • impacts to the landowner
  • impacts to business operations related to the lands

Examples of impacts could include: trees that are cut down due to construction, crop loss, noise or other inconveniences. The company may also offer to minimize inconveniences or address the impacts by means other than monetary compensation.

Offers for easement compensation are typically based upon a detailed statement of value of the lands required. These offers can rely upon generally accepted appraisal methodologies, such as fair market value.

The company’s offer may also provide details for options on the method of payment for the easement which can be either; at the option of the landowner:

  • Annual or periodic payments of equal or different amounts over a period of time - for this option, the payment schedule and amounts must be reviewed every five (5) years; or
  • A one-time lump sum payment

The decision rests with the landowner to select which method of compensation they would prefer. The NEB Act does not prescribe the amount to be paid or the payment schedule.

While negotiating with the company on compensation matters, landowners can provide their own supporting information such as an appraisal, receipts, studies or reports.

Should the landowner and the company be unable to conclude an agreement on compensation at any time during the lifecycle of the project, either party may apply to the Minister of Natural Resources (NRCan) to request the services of a negotiator, or to have the dispute settled by arbitration. The decision of the NRCan arbitration committee is binding and is enforceable in a court of law. Parties are referred to the Pipeline Arbitration Secretariat within Natural Resources Canada given that the NEB does not have the authority to decide on matters pertaining to compensation

In the end, if the landowner and the company cannot reach an agreement, the company can seek a ‘Right of Entry Order’ from the Board for the right to enter the lands associated with an approved project. Whether the landowner objects to the issuance of an Order or not, the landowner can submit written comments to the Board regarding the terms and conditions that the company has requested in its application. If an Order is issued, the landowner will be paid an advance on the compensation amount, even if the final amount is yet to be determined.

If assistance is required to resolve these types of concerns, the NEB can provide qualified staff to help landowners reach a mutually acceptable outcome with the company.

Date modified:

Indemnisaton pour servitudes

Indemnisaton pour servitudes

Aux termes de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi), les propriétaires fonciers ont droit à une indemnité des sociétés qui font passer des pipelines ou des lignes de transport d’électricité sur leur terrain, que ce soit en vue de l’acquisition de droits permanents ou pour d’autres types d’accès.

Une indemnisation doit en outre être versée en cas de dommages attribuables à la société en raison des activités menées à ses installations, ce qui comprend les cas suivants :

  • endommagement des terrains;
  • incidences sur le propriétaire foncier;
  • répercussions sur les activités commerciales en rapport avec la propriété.

Certaines de ces conséquences pourraient inclure la coupe d’arbres pendant les travaux de construction, la perte de récoltes, le bruit ou d’autres inconvénients. La société peut par ailleurs proposer de réduire au minimum les inconvénients en question ou de s’occuper des impacts par des moyens autres que monétaires.

L’indemnisation pour servitude s’appuie très souvent sur un énoncé détaillé de la valeur des terrains requis, laquelle peut être établie en fonction de méthodes généralement acceptées comme celle de la juste valeur marchande.

L’offre de la société peut également préciser des détails quant à la méthode de paiement pour la servitude, qui peut prendre l’une des deux formes suivantes, au choix du propriétaire :

  • des versements annuels ou périodiques égaux ou différents échelonnés sur une période donnée (le calendrier doit être revus tous les cinq ans);
  • un paiement forfaitaire unique.

Il appartient au propriétaire foncier de choisir la méthode qu’il privilégie. La Loi ne prescrit ni les montants à verser ni le calendrier des paiements.

Pendant la négociation de l’indemnisation avec la société, le propriétaire foncier peut remettre à celle ci de l’information à l’appui de ses arguments, comme une évaluation, des reçus, des études ou des rapports.

Quand un propriétaire foncier et une société ne peuvent parvenir à une entente relativement à l’indemnisation, à quelque moment que ce soit pendant le cycle de vie du projet, l’une ou l’autre des parties peut s’adresser au ministre des Ressources naturelles (RNCan), afin de demander les services d’un négociateur ou de régler le litige dans le cadre d’un processus d’arbitrage. Toute décision du comité d’arbitrage de RNCan est exécutoire et applicable par les tribunaux. Les parties sont alors priées de s’adresser au Secrétariat d’arbitrage pour les pipelines de RNCan puisque l’Office n’a pas le pouvoir de décision quand il s’agit de questions d’indemnisation.

En l’absence de toute entente entre un propriétaire foncier et une société, cette dernière peut demander à l’Office une ordonnance de droit d’accès à des terrains en rapport avec un projet dûment approuvé. Que le propriétaire foncier s’objecte ou non à la délivrance d’une telle ordonnance, il peut présenter par écrit à l’Office ses commentaires au sujet des conditions d’accès demandées par la société. Si une ordonnance est rendue, le propriétaire foncier touchera une avance sur le montant de l’indemnisation, même si la somme définitive n’a pas encore été déterminée.

Si des préoccupations subsistent au point où de l’aide est requise pour les apaiser, l’Office peut dépêcher du personnel compétent pour que le propriétaire foncier et la société en arrivent à une entente acceptable pour tous.

Date de modification :