Exploring Canada’s energy future

Exploring Canada’s energy future

Issue: Using data visualizations at the National Energy Board

Exploring Canada’s energy future [PDF 2005 KB]

Explore the sources of energy used to fuel the needs of the various sectors
– residential, commercial, industrial, and transportation

The National Energy Board (NEB) worked together with leading data visualization experts in both academia and industry to create the Exploring Canada’s Energy Future interactive online tool. This pilot concept, based on our flagship publication – Canada’s Energy Future 2016: Energy Supply and Demand Projections to 2040, gives Canadians a taste of the exciting new way the NEB will share data going forward.

The objective is to present quality data from our most recent energy outlook in an interactive graphic format that is user-friendly and clarifies complex information into “visualizations” that are easily understood.

With a few clicks, Canadians can see the type and quantity of energy produced and required in every province and territory, and what that energy mix is forecast to look like decades into the future. These visualizations have more than 200 million unique possibilities. With the degree of customization and interaction built into this tool, each user can tell the story that most interests them.

Explore Canada’s energy future

Zero in on just your specific province or territory, or multiple; look at energy demand, oil or gas production and electricity generated.

Compares the relative amount of electricity generated by various energy sources across the provinces and territories for a given year. Help features are available for each element and visualization.

Explore the impact of key uncertainties on future energy trends, such as higher or lower energy prices, higher LNG exports or No LNG exports, or not building crude oil export pipelines.

Date modified:

Explorer l’avenir énergétique du Canada

Explorer l’avenir énergétique du Canada

Utilisation de visualisations de données à l’Office national de l’énergie

Explorer l’avenir énergétique du Canada [PDF 1878 ko]

Explorez les sources d’énergie utilisées pour combler les besoins dans
les secteurs résidentiel, commercial, industriel et le secteur des transports.

Pour créer l’outil interactif Explorer l’avenir énergétique du Canada, l’Office national de l’énergie s’est associé à des experts de la visualisation des données du milieu universitaire et de l’industrie. Fondé sur la publication phare Avenir énergétique du Canada en 2016 – Offre et demande énergétiques à l’horizon 2040, ce projet pilote donne aux Canadiensun avant-goût du nouveau modeemballant de diffusion des données qu’utilisera désormais l’Office.

L’objectif consiste à présenter des données de qualité tirées de la plus récente perspective énergétique de l’Office dans un format visuel interactif et convivial, qui clarifie une information complexe grâce à des visualisations faciles à comprendre.

Il suffit maintenant de quelques clics pour que les Canadiens puissent constater quels sont les types et quantités d’énergie produite selon la province ou le territoire, les besoins respectifs de chacun et le bouquet énergétique prévu d’ici quelques décennies. Le nombre de représentations visuelles distinctes possibles est ainsi supérieur à 200 millions. Les adaptations et interactions que permet cet outil font en sorte que chaque utilisateur est en mesure d’en retirer ce qui l’intéresse tout particulièrement.

Explorer l’avenir énergétique du Canada

Ciblez une province ou un territoire précis, ou plusieurs provinces et territoires; observez la demande en énergie, la production pétrolière et gazière ainsi que l’électricité produite.

Analysez l’incidence des principales incertitudes sur l’évolution future de l’énergie, par exemple des prix plus élevés ou plus bas, des exportations plus élevées de GNL ou l’absence d’exportations de GNL, ou encore l’absence de nouveaux de pipelines d’exportation de pétrole brut.

Explore the impact of key uncertainties on future energy trends, such as higher or lower energy prices, higher LNG exports or No LNG exports, or not building crude oil export pipelines.

Date de modification :