ARCHIVED - National Energy Board Rules on Trans Mountain Motion

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
23 October 2014

National Energy Board Rules on Trans Mountain Motion

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (the Board) issued an order today granting Trans Mountain access to Burnaby Mountain to complete technical studies related to the company’s proposed pipeline.

The order prevents the City of Burnaby from blocking Trans Mountain from carrying out the required surveys and technical studies. The Board also ruled that it has the legal authority to consider constitutional questions relating to its own jurisdiction.

In the ruling, the Board determined that the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) provides the jurisdiction and the authority to determine that these specific City of Burnaby bylaws are not applicable based on the facts before the Board. The Board went on to say that the surveys and studies about Trans Mountain’s proposed pipeline route through Burnaby Mountain are required in order to make a recommendation to the federal government about whether or not this project should proceed. Preventing full ac cess to Burnaby Mountain would be contrary to the purpose of the NEB Act.

The order also requires Trans Mountain to provide the City of Burnaby with 48 hours written notice before entering Burnaby Mountain to carry out the surveys and studies. Furthermore, Trans Mountain must do as little damage as possible and remediate any damage it does cause, to the extent possible.

This is first time the Board has issued an order to a municipality.

Before making a decision on this motion, the Board heard oral arguments from the City of Burnaby and Trans Mountain on 9 October. The Attorneys General of Canada and all of the provinces were also able to participate, although none chose to do so.

Trans Mountain originally filed a motion with the Board on 3 September requesting an order under sections 12, 13 and 73(a) of the NEB Act, granting the company access to Burnaby Mountain and forbidding the City of Burnaby from denying access. The Board denied this motion on 25 September as the request contained a constitutional question. When raising a constitutional question, federal legislation requires that notice be provided to the Attorneys General of Canada and the provinces. Trans Mountain then filed a similar motion for an access order with the Board on 26 September, raising a constitutional question, notice of which was served on the Attorneys General.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related document:

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Décision de l’Office national de l’énergie au sujet de la requête de Trans Mountain

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 octobre 2014

Décision de l’Office national de l’énergie au sujet de la requête de Trans Mountain

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie a aujourd’hui rendu une ordonnance accordant à Trans Mountain l’accès au mont Burnaby de manière à mener à terme les études techniques pour le pipeline qu’elle propose.

L’ordonnance empêche la Ville de Burnaby d’entraver les études techniques et travaux d’arpentage que Trans Mountain est tenue de mener. En outre, l’Office a jugé qu’il disposait des pouvoirs voulus pour tenir compte de questions constitutionnelles en rapport avec son domaine de compétence.

Dans sa décision, l’Office a déterminé que la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi) procure les fondements juridiques requis pour décider que des règlements précis adoptés par la Ville de Burnaby ne pouvaient être appliqués compte tenu des faits qui lui ont été présentés. Il a poursuivi en précisant que les travaux d’arpentage et les études au sujet du tracé proposé traversant le mont Burnaby pour le pipeline de Trans Mountain doivent être effectués afin de pouvoir présenter une recommandation au gouvernement fédéral quant à l’approbation ou au rejet du projet. Bloquer l’accès au mont Burnaby serait contraire à l’esprit de la Loi.

Par ailleurs, l’ordonnance exige que Trans Mountain donne un avis par écrit de 48 heures à la Ville de Burnaby avant de procéder aux travaux d’arpentage et aux études. Elle doit également limiter les dommages au minimum, puis corriger la situation dans toute la mesure du possible.

C’est la première fois que l’Office produit une ordonnance visant une municipalité.

L’Office a rendu une décision relativement à la requête après avoir entendu la plaidoirie orale de la Ville de Burnaby et de Trans Mountain le 9 octobre. Le procureur général du Canada et celui des différentes provinces ont aussi été invités à prendre part au processus, mais ont décliné l’invitation.

À l’origine, Trans Mountain avait déposé une requête devant l’Office le 3 septembre, lui demandant de rendre une ordonnance, aux termes des articles 12 et 13 ainsi que de l’alinéa 73a) de la Loi, pour autoriser l’accès par la société au mont Burnaby et empêcher la Ville de Burnaby de bloquer un tel accès. Le 25 septembre, l’Office a rejeté cette requête, qui renfermait une question constitutionnelle. En présence d’une telle question, la loi fédérale exige la remise d’un avis au procureur général du Canada et à celui des différentes provinces. Trans Mountain a par la suite déposé auprès de l’Office, le 26 septembre, une autre requête de même nature pour la délivrance d’une ordonnance devant lui permettre l’accès souhaité, mais cette fois avec signification à tous les procureurs généraux.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Sarah Kiley
Agente des communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Document pertinent :

Date de modification :