ARCHIVED - National Energy Board to hold oral hearing on Trans Mountain Pipeline motion for access to Burnaby Mountain and Notice of Constitutional Question

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
7 October 2014

National Energy Board to hold oral hearing on Trans Mountain Pipeline motion for access to Burnaby Mountain and Notice of Constitutional Question

CALGARY– The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) will hear oral arguments on a motion from Trans Mountain Pipeline seeking an order for access to Burnaby Mountain. The motion also includes a Notice of Constitutional Question. The hearing will begin at 9 am (MDT) on 9 October at the National Energy Board’s offices in Calgary and the public is welcome to attend. The hearing is expected to last for one to two days.

Trans Mountain is requesting an NEB order which would grant the company access to Burnaby Mountain to carry out surveys and studies necessary for fixing the site of the pipeline. The motion also asks the NEB to forbid the City of Burnaby from denying the company access to the land.

On 25 September, the NEB turned down a motion from the company requesting a similar order as the NEB determined that the request contained a constitutional question. When raising a constitutional question, federal legislation requires that notice be provided to the Attorneys General of Canada and the provinces While this notice had not been provided in Trans Mountain’s original request, it has now been served on the Attorneys General.

Before making a decision on this motion, the Board will hear from the City of Burnaby, Trans Mountain and any of the Attorneys General who choose to participate. The hearing will be broadcast via a live audio feed available on the NEB’s website at www.neb-one.gc.ca/TransMountainExpansion and a transcript will be posted on our website.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L’Office national de l’énergie tiendra une audience orale sur la requête de Trans Mountain pour avoir accès au Mont Burnaby, ainsi que sur un avis de question constitutionnelle

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 7 octobre 2014

L’Office national de l’énergie tiendra une audience orale sur la requête de Trans Mountain pour avoir accès au Mont Burnaby, ainsi que sur un avis de question constitutionnelle

CALGARY– L’Office national de l’énergie entendra les plaidoiries orales concernant la requête qui lui a été présentée par Trans Mountain en vue d’obtenir une ordonnance d’accès au Mont Burnaby et qui comprend un avis de question constitutionnelle. Le public est invité à assister à l’audience, qui débutera le 9 octobre à 9 h (HAR) et se déroulera dans les locaux de l’Office, à Calgary. Elle devrait durer une ou deux journées.

Trans Mountain a sollicité la délivrance d’une ordonnance qui lui donnerait accès au mont Burnaby, afin d’y effectuer les levés et les études nécessaires à la détermination du tracé pipelinier. Dans sa requête, Trans Mountain demande également à l’Office d’interdire à la Ville de Burnaby de refuser l’accès aux terrains.

Le 25 septembre dernier, l’Office a rejeté une requête par laquelle Trans Mountain sollicitait une ordonnance semblable, au motif que cette requête soulevait une question constitutionnelle. Selon la législation fédérale, il faut d’abord signifier un avis au procureur général du Canada pour soulever une question constitutionnelle. Trans Mountain, qui n’avait pas signifié de tel avis au procureur général avant de déposer sa requête initiale, l’a fait avant le dépôt de la seconde.

L’Office rendra une décision relativement à la requête après avoir entendu la Ville de Burnaby, Trans Mountain, ainsi que tout procureur général, du Canada ou d’une province, qui choisit de participer à l’audience. Il sera possible de suivre l’audience en direct à partir du site Web de l’Office www.neb-one.gc.ca/TransMountainExpansion, grâce à une diffusion audio en continu. Les transcriptions de l’audience seront également accessibles depuis le site Web.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Sarah Kiley
Agente des communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :